SWITCHER - Company history

1981

Robin Cornelius founds the Switcher brand in Le-Mont-sur Lausanne (CH), known for its loose-fitting, comfortable, plain-colored polo shirts without lettering. The first collection comprised just two models: a T-shirt and a sweatshirt.

1991

At a time of great historical upheaval, Switcher increasingly emphasizes social and environmental concerns. This era was characterized by accelerated globalization and increased outsourcing of production sites to developing countries, which resulted in unfair working conditions.

1998

In cooperation with NGOs, Switcher is developing its own code of conduct for all suppliers, which is based on international standards, including working hours and minimum wages that are not based on government guidelines but on the Asia Floor Wage.

2004

Establishment of the Switcher Foundation Fondation Switcher in India, which provides schools and a school bus for children from disadvantaged areas.

2005

Switcher launches a Max Havelaar (Fairtrade) certified organic cotton collection and introduces the respect-code traceability label, which enables consumers to trace products along the entire supply chain.

2006

Celebration of Switcher's 25th anniversary with an expansion of the product range.

2008

Switcher is the only national brand to produce part of the Swiss Olympic team's collection and is launching a successful fan merchandising collection under the motto "Made with respect".

2016

Due to disagreements between the owners, no solution could be found to restructure the brand, marking the end of an era for the iconic Switcher brand with the yellow whale.

2018

Under the leadership of former Switcher marketing manager Marc Joss and in collaboration with Thomas Schütz from werk5, Switcher is revived under license on a smaller scale. Ten bestselling products are produced and successfully launched.

2020

Together with Marc Joss, the Sulochana Group from Tiruppur founds Switcher Trading Sàrl, based in Frick AG, and relaunches the brand with over 45 products. Marc Joss takes over as Managing Director and the owner family Krishnakumar is committed to the environment, employees and the general public with their company Sulochana. The production chain is transparent and certified according to international standards. The company uses only renewable energy for textile production and relies on recycled materials.

2021

Switcher successfully launches its new B2C online platform during the coronavirus crisis. Over 50 points of sale carry Switcher in their range.

2023

A new milestone for the young company Switcher Trading Sàrl: the entire warehouse is being relocated to Frick (AG). From now on, Switcher will be present from its new logistics platform in the heart of Switzerland with new offices.

2024

Relaunch of the Swiss Vision brand with a sustainable collection for the souvenir industry.

SWITCHER - Unternehmensgeschichte

1981

Robin Cornelius gründet die Marke Switcher in Le-Mont-sur Lausanne (CH), bekannt für weit geschnittene und bequeme, einfarbige Poloshirts ohne Schriftzüge. Die erste Kollektion umfasste lediglich zwei Modelle: ein T-Shirt und ein Sweatshirt.

1991

In einer Zeit grosser geschichtlicher Umwälzungen betont Switcher verstärkt soziale und ökologische Belange. Diese Ära war von einer beschleunigten Globalisierung und verstärkten Auslagerung von Produktionsstandorten in Entwicklungsländer geprägt, was ungerechte Arbeitsbedingungen mit sich brachte.

1998

Switcher entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit NGOs einen eigenen Verhaltenskodex für alle Lieferanten, der sich an internationalen Standards orientiert, einschliesslich Arbeitszeiten und Mindestlöhnen, die sich nicht an staatlichen Vorgaben, sondern am Asia Floor Wage orientieren.

2004

Gründung der Switcher Stiftung Fondation Switcher in Indien, die Schulen und einen Schulbus für Kinder aus benachteiligten Gegenden bereitstellt.

2005

Switcher lanciert eine Max Havelaar (Fairtrade) zertifizierte Bio-Baumwollkollektion und führt das Rückverfolgbarkeitslabel respect-code ein, dass es Konsumenten ermöglicht, die Produkte entlang der gesamten Beschaffungskette zurückzuverfolgen.

2006

Feier des 25-jährigen Bestehens von Switcher mit einer Erweiterung des Sortiments.

2008

Switcher ist die einzige nationale Marke, die einen Teil der Kollektion des Schweizer Olympiateams produziert und eine erfolgreiche Fan-Merchandising-Kollektion unter dem Motto «Made with respect» einführt.

2016

Aufgrund von Unstimmigkeiten zwischen den Inhabern konnte keine Lösung zur Restrukturierung der Marke gefunden werden, was das Ende einer Ära für die ikonische Marke Switcher mit dem gelben Walfisch markiert.

2018

Unter der Leitung des ehemaligen Marketingleiters von Switcher, Marc Joss, und in Zusammenarbeit mit Thomas Schütz von der Firma werk5, wird Switcher unter Lizenz in kleinerem Massstab wiederbelebt. Es werden 10 Bestseller-Produkte produziert und erfolgreich eingeführt.

2020

Die Sulochana Group aus Tiruppur gründet zusammen mit Marc Joss die Switcher Trading Sàrl mit Sitz in Frick AG und relauncht die Marke mit über 45 Produkten. Marc Joss übernimmt als Geschäftsführer.Die Eigentümerfamilie Krishnakumar engagiert sich mit ihrem Unternehmen Sulochana für Umwelt, Mitarbeiter und die breite Bevölkerung. Die Produktionskette ist transparent und nach internationalen Standards zertifiziert. Das Unternehmen nutzt ausschließlich erneuerbare Energie für die Textilproduktion und setzt auf recycelte Materialien.

2021

Während der Corona-Krise lanciert Switcher erfolgreich seine neue B2C-Online-Plattform. Über 50 Verkaufspunkte führen Switcher in Ihrem Sortiment.

2023

Ein neuer Meilenstein für das junge Unternehmen Switcher Trading Sàrl: Das gesamte Lager wird nach Frick (AG) verlegt. Ab sofort ist Switcher von seiner neuen Logistikplattform im Herzen der Schweiz aus mit neuen Büros präsent.

2024

Relaunch der Marke Swiss Vision mit einer nachhaltigen Kollektion für die Souvenirbranche.